Olympics: Let the Ambush Games Begin

In the Hutong

Trying to grow some thicker skin

1900 hrs.


My article on ambush marketing at the Olympics in AdAge.

When I first started covering marketing around the Beijing Olympics, I began with the belief that ambush marketing was a bad thing.

Now I’m not so sure.

The more I think about it, the more I feel that effective ambush marketing means a sponsor someplace is not doing a complete job.

Sponsorships buy you an opportunity, not an entitlement.

About David Wolf

An adviser to corporations and organizations on strategy, communications, and public affairs, David Wolf has been working and living in Beijing since 1995, and now divides his time between China and California. He also serves as a policy and industry analyst focused on innovative and creative industries, a futurist, and an amateur historian.
This entry was posted in Craft, Olympic Hutong. Bookmark the permalink.