Quote about Books

From the Lanai in the Treetops, Honolulu
Watching the submarines dive and surface
1241 hrs

Thumbing through the pile of used books I picked up in LA last week, I am reminded of an old saying.

“Books are like wine: the good ones age well, the bad ones are vinegar.”

One book that remains excellent is Robert Mason’s Chickenhawk, which was arguably the first book to give a helicopter-pilot’s eye view of the Vietnam war. I had lost my old copy so I picked up a used edition to slide into the library. I’ve read probably a half-dozen memoirs by pilots from Vietnam, and Mason’s remains the best so far.

About David Wolf

An adviser to corporations and organizations on strategy, communications, and public affairs, David Wolf has been working and living in Beijing since 1995, and now divides his time between China and California. He also serves as a policy and industry analyst focused on innovative and creative industries, a futurist, and an amateur historian.
This entry was posted in Books, Peking Review. Bookmark the permalink.