Get Over Single-Browser Optimized Websites – Or Lose Money

Starbucks Fortune Plaza, Beijing
Enjoying the gloomy fall weather
1517 hrs.

I probably receive about four invitations a day to some sort of event – either live or electronic – from some event management company.

One, in particular, is very active here in Asia in mobile communications. They’re running an event in December that I urged them to run when I met with them over a year ago.

So I’m on the mailing list, and I get an email inviting me to download a brochure about the event. It looked interesting. I’d even consider spending $2,000 of my hard-earned to attend, and that’s rare.

So I click on the download button, and it confronts me with a registration page.

Now wait a minute.

I received the email in the first place because I’m registered with them. Now they need my name again?

Strike one.

Then I fill out the form before I see the small print that says “IE-based browsers only.”

Can’t bother to support Firefox, Mozilla, Opera, or Safari, despite their combined 40% market share?

Strike two.

Then I want to send an email to somebody to actually get a copy of the brochure, the only address on the form is for the farking webmaster.

Strike three.

Here’s my first question: if a large event company focused on the technology industries is telling 40% of the people who come to their website that they can’t even have a brochure, how much money are these guys throwing down the toilet in at least higher marketing costs, and at worst lost business?

Here’s my second question: have you checked your website’s browser compatibility lately?

About David Wolf

An adviser to corporations and organizations on strategy, communications, and public affairs, David Wolf has been working and living in Beijing since 1995, and now divides his time between China and California. He also serves as a policy and industry analyst focused on innovative and creative industries, a futurist, and an amateur historian.
This entry was posted in Internet Business. Bookmark the permalink.