Happy Birthday, Mac

In the Hutong
Geeking out and Maccing off
1637 hrs.

I don’t know about you all, but when I was using Windows I seemed to go through a laptop about every 18 months to two years. Somehow, in that period of time, normal wear-and-tear would render the things unstable, slow, and eventually unusable.

My first Windows laptop was an NEC. I bought the thing in November of 1996, and it lasted me until May of 1998. 18 months.

My second Windows laptop was an Acer. That one did pretty good – it lasted me from May of 1988 until July of 2000 before croaking. 26 months.

My third Windows laptop was a second-hand Dell, company issued. That one lasted me from August 2000 to April 2001. 9 months. It was old, anyway.

My fourth Windows laptop was another Dell, also company issued. That lasted from April 2001 until I replaced it 15 months later with my Fujitsu Lifebook D.

The Fujitsu Lifebook D I actually picked up as a second computer so I could have something that was my own. I got it in August 2001. It lasted until February 2003 – 17 months and then completely croaked, leaving me having to borrow a laptop.

The Return of Mac

In April 2003, after an absence of nearly 7 years, I returned to Mac, buying a 17″ PowerBook as soon as Apple in China got its first shipment. In fact, I can confidently say it was the first of its kind outside of Apple in Northern China.

Last year, I bought a new 17″ MacBookPro, expecting the PowerBook to croak.

It’s still going. And I still use it daily alongside the MacBookPro.

Today, it’s been 4 years since I bought the PowerBook, and it’s still running happily. A freaking record.

Oh, and my wife’s iBook has 3-1/2 years on it. That’s a record, too.

Of course, I know that the life of a computer is determined by many things, and so I won’t claim some kind if innate superiority for Macintosh. Your results may vary. Suffice to say that we’ve got 6 Macs in our business and we’ll be buying 2 more in the next year – not as replacements, but as additions.

Four years on a laptop?

Damn.

About David Wolf

An adviser to corporations and organizations on strategy, communications, and public affairs, David Wolf has been working and living in Beijing since 1995, and now divides his time between China and California. He also serves as a policy and industry analyst focused on innovative and creative industries, a futurist, and an amateur historian.
This entry was posted in Hardware and Silicon. Bookmark the permalink.